Hola, yo soy la Hermana Mealair

Hola!
Every one has a lot of questions, so I´m just going to start there.

This week was better and worse. I´m more accustomed to the whole missionary life style, but the reality of the fact that I´m on a different continent hit, and that has been a fun one to kick. Also, It´s just really hard to communicate with my companion when I´m emotional and I´m fairly certain she thinks I hate her, but it´s fine haha. It´s hard to really tell if the language is getting better or not. Members tell me that I speak a lot better than most gringos, so I’ll take it as a compliment, but I can still only understand about half of what they say.
DSCF2153.JPGThis is how we get hot water. We have to light it every morning. The showers here are tiny and you can have scalding hot or freezing cold, and there is a very thin line between the two.

 

Our area is Belloto Central. We are fairly inland and the land is pretty flat, but it’s 45 minutes walking from one end of our area to the other. We are the only missionaries in the Liahona ward. There are about 90 active members. Every day we have almuerzo with a member, so I’m getting to know a good portion of the ward.
Let me tell you about almuerzo. You thought Thanksgiving was filling? That’s cute. Every day at 2 we have almuerzo. It starts with some kind of veggie or appetizer. Then they bring the next plate and it’s a soup. Then the bring the big main dish. To top it off, there is always dessert. And you have to clear your plate. It gets to the point where it is painful. However the food here is mild and agrees with my stomach much more than the food in Mexico.
There are dogs everywhere. Every where. But they seem to be pretty chill. And every house has at least one cat and one dog. And every house has a fence with a locked gate.
I don’t have much time, but this week was good. At this point we don’t have investigators, so we are constantly contacting and teach a lot of less actives and recent converts. It’s hard because when we have lessons they are pumped up and ready to improve, but they don’t seem to follow through. Or they try to lie about following through because Chileans hate to be disagreeable.
OH, fun fact, we didn’t have power for a few days, so we lived off of candles for a while. Good fun.
DSCF2162.JPG
Gotta run. One day I’ll be able to finish a thought on here. I really am doing well. Today we have an English class with some less actives so I’ll have to tell you how that goes.
Love,
Hna Miller
Leave a Reply

