ACHUpallas! Bless you.

Well here I am. The first new sector. It was rough leaving Belloto. I knew that I was going to miss people, but I didn’t really believe that anyone would miss me. It was definitely the hardest to say goodbye to Familia Valdez. Bruno’s little face broke my heart. I was counting on being able to ask for permission to go to the baptism, but now it looks like we’ll be having baptisms the same day. Sure love that little boy.

HM 178 (1)

Hermana Lozano made me this official graduation from training certificate thing. She made all these people sign it, pretty legit. And our last night Hermana Johana bought us Papa Johns:) I ate my half in one sitting #noshame. Also this keyboard is awful, so I apologize in advance.
HM 177
My sector is called Reñaca Alto. And it is huge. It literally doesn’t have a boarder and is more than half of the zone. And it’s in the hills. LOTS of hills. But we normally end up taking micros because we can’t get to city in time walking everywhere. There are no street signs here and no real central streets, so you just kind of have to memorize it all. And I’m so terribly lost, I just follow my companion. But, I didn’t realize how much I missed hills. And there is greenery here! There aren’t any real stores, just little shops to buy your bread everyday. There’s a really wide variety of people that live here. From people who have really nice big houses to squatters. We met a lady the other day that lives in a little shack on property she just bought without water or electricity. She was really interested so we wanted to give her a Book of Mormon, but she doesn’t know how to read. That was a first.
HM 184 (1)
My lovely compañera is Hermana Hernandez. She is from the capital of Honduras (which is a clever way of avoiding remembering what it’s called). She has 11 months in the mission and 3 cambios in this sector. This girl eats, sleeps, and drinks baptisms. She has so much fire. She just goes. I feel like she would be really funny if I could understand her haha. AND it was her birthday on Saturday, so I made her a manjar banana:) And we had asada in the house of a member who was actually a bishop in Liahona. Small world!
HM 194

Instagram skills not wasted

The ward here is awesome. They just got a new bishop and the first thing he wanted to do is have a meeting with us to make a ward mission plan. He wants us to teach the families in the ward how to give the first discussion and then have them give it to the recent converts.
HM 189
Sunday we had a lot of investigators in church. There’s this one investigator from Haiti named Tibe and the only reason he isn’t baptized is because he’s waiting on legal work to be married. He brought 4 friends to church. They didn’t understand almost anything, but they still loved it. We had a lesson with them last night and it was really cool because we said something and then Tiben translated to French back and forth the whole lesson. Why didn’t I study French?!
Another family came to church that was a reference and we still haven’t been able to teach them anything, but their only question was how many times they have to come to church to be baptized.
I attached pictures with Marcos, Virgilio, and Juan. Virgilio was just baptized and confirmed and Juan is anxiously waiting for his birthday to be baptized too. Marcos is their dad and he’s struggling to give up smoking right now. They lived on the street for years, but they started building their little house way out at the limit of our sector (which is actually the end where there isn’t a limit, but it’s where the houses stop) and members have been helping out, and it’s all really such a miracle.
HM 185
So much new stuff and so little time! Summary: I love this little sector. It still doesn’t feel like home, put the miracles are flowing!
Love you all! Enjoy conference!
😘Hermana Miller
Leave a Reply

